Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Simple step by step photo guide to make your own handmade Paper!

Project contributed by Jen Balcom and Amy Hoover. Thank you ladies!:)

What you will need
  • Mold and Deckle  (You can also staple screen to picture frame for deckle)
  • Felt
  • Sponge
  • Cotton fiber ( you can also use dryer lint, egg carton or cardboard etc)
  • Tub full of warm water
  • Blender
  • Dry flowers and Leaves
  • Towel
  1. Fill tub with warm water.
  2. Make pulp by blending warm water, shredded paper and cotton fiber in a blender. Blend until the shredded paper is disintegrated and mixed well. The water will look all cloudy.
  3. Pour pulp in the tub full of water.
  4. Mix the pulp well in the water.
  5. With screen side up on deckle, place mold on top and submerge in water. Scoop up the pulp till the pulp is evenly distributed all over the screen.
  6. Place dry flowers and leaves on top and gently float the pulp in water for leaves to settle.
  7. Remove the deckle from water.
  8. Place it on the towel.
  9. Remove the mold.
  10. Place the felt on top of handmade paper.
  11. Flip it
  12. Use sponge to squeeze out excess water with felt side up.
  13. Gently peel the felt away from paper and let the paper dry.
Enjoy all new handmade paper! Colormehappyworkshop:)


Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Bubbly art project - super fun impression art idea using bubble wrap!

What you will need

  • Bubble wrap
  • Paints
  • Paint brush
  • Paper
Using brush paint on the bubbly side of the bubble wrap.
Press painted side of bubble wrap onto a blank paper.
Gently lift the bubble wrap and enjoy the impressions.

Makes great home made cards, gift bags and gift wraps!


Tuesday, September 27, 2016

The more you read, The more things you will know, The more that you learn, The more places you will go! ~Dr Seuss

A Mighty Girl
A mighty girl is the world's largest collection of books, toys and movies for smart, confident, and courageous girls. 

A very special thanks to friends at www.amightygirl.com for all the efforts they put in to make resources available to raise strong and empowered girls.


Friday, September 9, 2016

Monday, September 5, 2016

Play Dough in the making - A fun-filled, green and creative activity to make learning and fun go hand in hand!

What you will need
  •  4 Cups all purpose flour 
  •  1.5 Cups of water (Approx.)
  •  1/2 Cup salt
  •  3 Tbsp of canola oil, you can also blend essential oils.
  •  Organic food coloring/Natural food colors from beets, annatto, turmeric, flower petals etc.
  •  6 Tsp cream of tartar
  1. Pour dry ingredients into a large saucepan and mix well using whisker. 
  2. Add wet ingredients (except food coloring).
  3. Over medium heat stir constantly until a dough ball forms by pulling away from sides.
  4. Take it off the stove to cool.
  5. Knead and split the dough in small balls 
  6. Add food coloring and knead to mix colors well.
  7. Store the dough in an airtight container. 

Simple play dough recipe without using cream of tartar

For each color what you will need
  • 1 Cup all purpose flour
  • 1 Cup corn starch
  • 1 Cup of water (Approx.)
  • 2 Tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 2 Tbsp of canola oil, you can also blend essential oils.
  • Organic food coloring/Natural food colors from beets, annatto, turmeric, flower petals etc.
  1. Mix dry ingredients well using a whisker in a large mixing bowl. 
  2. Add the wet ingredients (except the food coloring) and knead. 
  3. Split the dough in small balls and add food coloring for colors.
  4. Knead to mix colors well.
  5. Store the dough in an airtight container.
Note - Measurements of water and food coloring are Approx., It depends on what kind of flour you are using and how much color you will like to add. Add water slowly while kneading and stop adding when you reach the play dough like consistency.
Adding tartar is not a must but it makes play dough stretchy and fun to work with.

Feel free to experiment! You can also add glitter or crayon shavings (the leftover from sharpened crayons) for marbled look. 

Thanks for visiting and have a colorful day!:)

Sunday, July 3, 2016

Colors of Freedom: An Independence Day art project!

Featured in Times-Republican!

Fourth of July is marked nationwide by congregating with loved ones, shopping, backyard barbecue galore and spectacular display of fireworks. It’s also a wonderful opportunity for us to discuss with our kids what independence means and why we all need to appreciate the freedom we enjoy every day.

Symbolic use of colors in flags represents the values that country stands for. This month’s project is a creative, colorful and fun to do art that teaches what colors and values we as a nation take pride and stand for.

Red – Hardiness and Valor
White – Purity and Innocence
Blue – Vigilance and Perseverance

What you will need

• Cardstock
• Markers
• Red, white and blue buttons
• Glue
• Scissors (for bookmarks)

Using markers write on cardstock the meaning of colors. For younger children you can also take a print out. Stick the buttons using glue and give a finishing touch using markers. Makes fun greetings, bookmarks, folders and wall art.

Wish you all a very happy 4th July!! 

Thanks for visiting and have a colorful day:)

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Here's to strong women!

May we know them,
May we be them,
May we raise them!!

Monday, March 14, 2016

My Take ~ Utsav - A Beautiful World Culture Festival Poem 2016 | Art of Living

Main Utsav ye kahta hun

Main tujh mein hi rahta hoon

Aankh utha kar dekh mujhe

Main tere sang sang behta hoon

Har pal holi khelta hoon

Har din Diwali banata hoon

Main rom rom mein basta hoon

Main tujh mein hi rahta hoon

Main Utsav ye kehta hoon

Main tere dil mein rehta hoon

Har dhadkan mein bajta hoon

Har taal mein garajaata hoon

Har pal geet main gaata hoon

Jeevan sangeet sunata hoon

Main Utsav ye kehta hoon

Mere tujhmein hi rahta hoon

Aapne bheetar ki khushboo ko

Charo aur chalo failayen

Manavta ke rang mein rang kar

Apne hone ka Utsav banayein

Main Utsav ye kahata hoon...!!

Sunday, March 13, 2016

You never know!!

You never know
How and when
The existence will start
Using you for its purpose

You never know
How and when
You will be filled with abundance
And you will start raining
Quenching the thirst of many

You never know
How and when
You will be full of 
Fruits and shade
And travelers will take
Shelter and food from you

You never know
How and when
You will be full with
Love and light
And you will start spreading
The fragrance of beauty to everyone

You never know
How and when
The death will come 
And make you deathless
And life will start
Flowing out of you

You never know
How and when.... Really!

~Sri Sri Ravi Shankar
Find your happiness at www.artofliving.org

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Winter wonderland - Snow day fun!!

craft- Stuck in snow globe 

Nicholas! Snowman 2016